Skip to content
Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting

Tips for troubleshooting, intentionally as short as possible!

How to add additional participants after the initial setup?

Received some last-minute registrations? No problem, just edit your users csv file and add the new users. When you run shellroom setup again, you will be given the option to skip existing users.

To apply last-minute changes to an already-running training session, first open the agent using shellroom start. Then press Ctrl + R to reload the users file. New users will be allowed, removed users will be terminated and changed roles will be applied.

The terminal/screen of a participant is scrambled or frozen!

In such cases, it is often the easiest to just kill the participant’s process: as trainer, press Ctrl + B and browse to the participant, then press Ctrl + K to kill the participant’s session. The connection to the web terminal will be closed and the participant sees a warning message. They are invited to press a button to reload the page. They must log in again and a new process is started.

Users get a “Connection closed (Code 1005)” error

This means that the agent lost the connection to the web endpoint. To see the reason, open the agent and take a look at the event log (you can attach to an agent runnning in the background via shellroom start). While shellroom implements several measures to make the connection as robust as possible, severe network hickups might knock it out. In this case, quit the agent with Ctrl + Q and start it again as initially. User will need to log in again, but they can continue in their previous sessions which are presevered.

Inspecting the logs

The logs are located at /tmp/shellroom/shellroom-[UID]/shellroom-[username].log